An organization is only as strong as those members who support its goals. Through the efforts of our committees, we continue to serve our membership and enhance an environment of professional development. Each committee is led by a committee chair with a board member serving as the committee liaison.

We need your time and talent to continue our success. If you are interested in volunteering, please complete the online interest form HERE

Communications Committee

Jeanine Charles, Chair (Liaison: Houcine Chraibi)

There shall be a Communication Committee, consisting of a Chairperson and at least two (2) other members.  The committee shall be responsible for all internal and external mass communications for the Association. This committee is also responsible for reviewing the website. 

Conference Committee

Rhonda Modisette, Chair (Liaison: Brandi Whittenton)

There shall be a Conference Committee, consisting of a Chairperson and at least two (2) other members.  This committee shall be responsible for working with the management company to plan and organize the Conference(s) as determined by the Board.

Legislative and Bylaws Committee

Alan Phillips, Chair (Liaison: Jennifer Calderon)

There shall be a Legislative Committee, consisting of a Chairperson and at least one (1) member from each: county, municipal, and school agencies, for a minimum of four (4) members.  This committee shall be responsible for monitoring, reviewing, and reporting relevant legislative issues to the membership. Additionally, this committee is responsible for providing regular review on a regular basis of TxPPA's bylaws and providing the board with recommendations to ensure alignment and compliance with the association's bylaws.

Finance Committee

Shawn Willett, Chair 
There shall be a Finance Committee, consisting of the Treasurer as the Chairperson, and at least two (2) other members, to assist in preparing the annual budget, and conduct the annual internal audit. 

Membership Committee 

David Carter, Chair (Liaison: Matt Dobecka)

The Membership Committee Chair is appointed by the President.  The committee shall consist of at least three members. The primary objective is to promote TxPPA through a continued effort to retain existing and secure new members.

Nominating Committee

Melissa Lee, Chair
The Nominating Committee shall consist of not less than three (3) members including the Vice-President and two regular members of TxPPA appointed by the President. The Chairman shall be the Vice-President. The Committee shall receive and evaluate nominations from the membership regarding individuals recommended for candidacy. Additionally, this committee will oversee the scholarship review and selection process for the association each year. The committee is responsible for determining a means to fairly award scholarship.  Currently a metric system is used and point values are assigned to determine those winners.

Professional Development Committee

Hershel Becker, Chair (Liaison: Betsy Hansard)
There shall be a Professional Development Committee, consisting of a Chairperson and at least two (2) other members.  This committee shall be responsible for surveying and reviewing the education and professional development needs of Association membership, coordinating educational and professional development training for the membership, and coordinating certification-related educational programs with other organizations. This committee is also responsible for determing the content and making the selection of speakers for each TxPPA Conference. Furthermore, the Professional Development Committee is responsible to provide assistance to any governmental entity requesting purchasing expertise in setting up a new purchasing department/division or any other purchasing related request.

Strategic Partnerships Committee

Jed Greenfield, Chair (Liaison: Jeff Spears)
This committee plays a crucial role in maintaining relationships with allied organizations. This committee reviews and monitors existing relationship agreements, making recommendations to the TxPPA board on strategic partnerships. Additionally, the committee actively represents TxPPA in fulfilling its duties with the Texas Municipal League and the Achievement of Excellence (AEP) Committee. Through their efforts, this committee contributes to the overall success and growth of TxPPA's partnerships and collaborations.